You must be at least 18 years old or a high school graduate to become a high school sports official.
The Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) certifies referees for high school soccer.
The certification process includes three steps:
- Register and pay the required fee.
- Complete 2 hours of online training.
- Pass an online test.
Each official also must attend a 4-hour classroom session once every three years.
Registration for soccer officials is open during the summer. Training and testing take place in August. At the ArbiterSports website, create an account and log in. Follow the instructions to register and pay the fee. For help, contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Once certified, you can officiate high school varsity and subvarsity matches anywhere in Minnesota.
Reciprocity with Other States
Some Midwestern states offer reciprocal registration. If you register in one of these states and want to officiate in Minnesota, you can request reciprocity through your primary state association. For instructions and a list of participating states, see “Reciprocity” in the MSHSL Manual for Athletic Officials.
However, you will be eligible to receive postseason section and state tournament assignments in Minnesota only if you register directly with the Minnesota State High School League, complete all MSHSL certification requirements, and meet the League’s minimum games requirement.
Minnesota state law requires that all officials for school-sponsored sports complete concussion awareness training at least once every three years. You can find a link to this training and track your compliance with the requirement when you log in to the ArbiterSports website.
The Minnesota State High School League conducts periodic background checks of registered officials. You can track your compliance with this requirement when you log in to the ArbiterSports website.